Jumping on the jumpsuit trend.

Jumpsuits have been a trend for a while but as per usual I’m late jumping on fashion trends, specially if it’s something quite different from what I’m used to wearing. When Wardrobe by me launched the tester call for the new Aviator Jumpsuit I decided it was time for me to give the jumpsuit a chance.

Sewing womens clothes using pdf sewing patterns by indie sewing pattern designers.

The Aviator is for woven fabrics and it comes with a few options. There is full length and shorts versions. Sleeveless or with sleeves with a sleeve tab. Round neck or v-neck. Inseam pockets or pleated patch pockets. The fit is relaxed and comfy.

Sewing womens clothes using pdf sewing patterns by indie sewing pattern designers.

I think I can safely say that this is the biggest/longest garment I have ever made, haha. I had to cut my fabric on the floor, which I haven’t done since I got my big cutting mat a few years ago. But that was my only challenge in the whole process as the pattern is quite straight forward and an easy sew.

Sewing womens clothes using pdf sewing patterns by indie sewing pattern designers.

I had to make one in the short version as well because the temps have been rising and I’m hoping for a nice warm summer at home this year as all our travel plans have been canceled . The short one I made in double gauze but I’m not sure what kind the fabric is I used in the full length one, I’m guessing some kind of twill maybe.

Sewing womens clothes using pdf sewing patterns by indie sewing pattern designers.

I did my usual grading in size from 6 bust to 10 hips. I kept the size 10 over the thighs and for the hem length, but size 6 for the torso length and the rise. There are good instructions in the pattern if you have to increase og decrease the torso length to get the best fit for your body.

Sewing womens clothes using pdf sewing patterns by indie sewing pattern designers.

What’s your take on the jumpsuit trend, are you already embracing it, over it or just starting to dip your toes in like me? Where ever you are in the process, be sure to check out the Aviator.

Love

Dagbjört

Author: bydagbjort

I'm a mom to four fantastic kids, three boys and a girl. To teenagers and to toddlers so never a dull moment in our household :) We are from Iceland but have been living in Norway since 2001. I have a newfound passion for sewing. My hubby travels a lot for work and I needed something to do at night when the little ones are a sleep because suddenly my teenage boys would rather hang with their friends or play on their pc's than be with me - why is beyond my imagination :) Thanks to Pinterest I found some amazing sewing bloggers, whom I've been stalking, and realized that I could dig out my sewing machine and start sewing. Now it's all I think about. I've been hoarding pdf patterns and learning from all the amazing tutorials that are out there. I've decided to try out this blogging thing as well to document my sewing journey. We'll see how it goes! Thanks for stopping by, I would love it if you would leave me a comment! XOXO Dagbjört

3 thoughts on “Jumping on the jumpsuit trend.”

Leave a comment