My very own Aspen, finally!

I’ll keep this short and sweet as we just got home from camping and I have a ton of things to put away and not to mention the huge laundry pile that’s staring at me. At first I wasn’t going to write a blog post about my newest sew but then I started posting in the sewing groups on Facebook and I just felt that this pattern really deserves a place on the blog.

Sewing women's clothes using pdf sewing patterns from indie sewing pattern designers.

Sofiona just released the Miss Romper Bundle a new pattern in their miss junior line. I made the kids version for Anita earlier in the spring and it was the first garment I made for her that got me feeling I want this in my size, and now I have three and one more on the cutting table.

Sewing women's clothes using pdf sewing patterns from indie sewing pattern designers.

The pattern comes in three length options, with or without sleeves and if you don’t think you are a romper person – yet, there is also an option for just a peplum top or a dress. So plenty of possibilites! By now I have one in full length with sleeves and one more full length on the cutting table that’s going to be sleeveless. The fabric I used for this one is cotton jersey I bought from Abby’s Tekstiler, I love how it looks and feels.

Sewing women's clothes using pdf sewing patterns from indie sewing pattern designers.

Then I have two in capri length, this fabric is also cotton jersey from Abby’s Tekstiler but it was from their outlet section so maybe its all gone cause I can’t find it again. I’m usually not a pocket person but I love that these pockets are actually a good size and by that I mean you can put your phone in them and it wont stick out or just fall right out.

Sewing women's clothes using pdf sewing patterns from indie sewing pattern designers.

The pattern comes with 4 different bust sizes and in sizes 0 – 20. I made all mine in size 4A bust graded to 8 waist and 10 hips. I also added about 7 cm to the hem line on my full length version as I’m taller than the height the pattern is drafted for.

Sewing women's clothes using pdf sewing patterns from indie sewing pattern designers.

This one is in french terry so a bit heavier fabric with less drape but very cozy to wear. I’m not sure which Norwegian fabric store I bought it from. I must start keeping inventory on where I get my fabric from, I always think I’m going to remember but then I just don’t.

Sewing women's clothes using pdf sewing patterns from indie sewing pattern designers.

I would say that this is one of those patterns that is a must have in your collection. Now I’ll go back to putting things away after our camping trip, how fun!

Love

Dagbjört

Author: bydagbjort

I'm a mom to four fantastic kids, three boys and a girl. To teenagers and to toddlers so never a dull moment in our household :) We are from Iceland but have been living in Norway since 2001. I have a newfound passion for sewing. My hubby travels a lot for work and I needed something to do at night when the little ones are a sleep because suddenly my teenage boys would rather hang with their friends or play on their pc's than be with me - why is beyond my imagination :) Thanks to Pinterest I found some amazing sewing bloggers, whom I've been stalking, and realized that I could dig out my sewing machine and start sewing. Now it's all I think about. I've been hoarding pdf patterns and learning from all the amazing tutorials that are out there. I've decided to try out this blogging thing as well to document my sewing journey. We'll see how it goes! Thanks for stopping by, I would love it if you would leave me a comment! XOXO Dagbjört

5 thoughts on “My very own Aspen, finally!”

  1. Hei. Jeg ble så inspirert at jeg har kjøpt mønsteret og skal sy meg en selv. Har sydd en del, men aldri av et mønster med slike strørrelser. Aldri med mønster som printes ut selv heller, faktisk.. Hvilken størrelse brukte du? Jeg er vanligvis str.38. Mvh Tine

    Like

    1. Hei. Så kjekt å høre at du ble inspirert 🥰 Jeg synes det er best å gå etter måle tabellen i mønsteret og gradere mellom størrelser der det er behov. Mine mål setter meg i størrelse 4A over brystet, 6 for midjen og 10 for hoftene. Jeg var litt redd at med så stor forskjell mellom midjen og hoftene at jeg ikke kom til å få den over hoftene og derfor brukte jeg 8 for midjen. Men nå når jeg har brukt disse en hel del da tror jeg at jeg prøver 6 for midjen på min neste. Det er viktig at du åpner filen med Adobe leseren og at du krysser av for faktisk størrelse når du skal skrive ut. På første mønsterside er det en firkant du kan måle til å være sikker på at alt er riktig størrelse. Tips for å spare papir og blekk er at du trenger kun å skrive ut de mønsterdelene du skal bruke og du kan velge kun de størrelsene du trenger. Kos deg med syingen! 😃

      Like

  2. The camping trip looked so good on your pics. And, as always, it’s a pleasure to have you test with us. 😊

    Like

Leave a comment