The Rose Hip

Sofiona Designs just released yet another great pattern. The Rose Hip Jacket, its a cropped style bomber jacket and the pattern includes all sorts of awesome details.

Sewing childrens clothes using pdf sewing patterns by indie sewing pattern designers.

I made the longer length in size 7 for waist and chest and size 10 for length. The fabric I used came from the upholstery section at Stoff og Stil. I was going to use it to make a bomber jacket for myself, but oh well I guess this is how it usually goes – the kids end up getting all the cool stuff.

Sewing childrens clothes using pdf sewing patterns by indie sewing pattern designers.

The jacket can be made without the style lines at the front and back for a more simple version. I love the look of piping so I went with the option with the most style lines. You can also do a hood instead of a neckband and there is an options for a zippered pocket on the sleeve as well as the welt pockets on the front. I almost forgot to mention the cuffs, you can make just a regular single cuff or if you want something a bit different you can make a double cuff. I love the double cuff!

Sewing childrens clothes using pdf sewing patterns by indie sewing pattern designers.

I added a little loop to the inside. My lining is just a thin rayon type fabric so I added a small piece of the same fabric with interfacing on the backside to reinforce the lining where the loop is. In hindsight I see I should have sewn it on a little bit higher. To make the jacket hang nicer if using the loop I stitched through both layers along the topstitching for one of the style lines.

Sewing childrens clothes using pdf sewing patterns by indie sewing pattern designers.

This pattern is definitely not a fast sew and more on the advanced scale but the instructions are very good and there is always the possibility to ask for help in the FB group.

Sewing childrens clothes using pdf sewing patterns by indie sewing pattern designers.

The pants she is wearing in these photos are on the other hand very fast and easy to sew. I modified the Aspen add-on to be just pants. The fabric is ponte and its quite heavy so to be on the safe side I added elastic to the waistband.

Sewing childrens clothes using pdf sewing patterns by indie sewing pattern designers.

It’s fun to see how the different fabrics make totally different jackets therefor I highly recommend checking out the FB group for inspiration.

Love

Dagbjört

Author: bydagbjort

I'm a mom to four fantastic kids, three boys and a girl. To teenagers and to toddlers so never a dull moment in our household :) We are from Iceland but have been living in Norway since 2001. I have a newfound passion for sewing. My hubby travels a lot for work and I needed something to do at night when the little ones are a sleep because suddenly my teenage boys would rather hang with their friends or play on their pc's than be with me - why is beyond my imagination :) Thanks to Pinterest I found some amazing sewing bloggers, whom I've been stalking, and realized that I could dig out my sewing machine and start sewing. Now it's all I think about. I've been hoarding pdf patterns and learning from all the amazing tutorials that are out there. I've decided to try out this blogging thing as well to document my sewing journey. We'll see how it goes! Thanks for stopping by, I would love it if you would leave me a comment! XOXO Dagbjört

2 thoughts on “The Rose Hip”

Leave a comment